Post by theramirocketman on Feb 13, 2018 0:55:32 GMT -5
I just played a game against an IG player and he used the Armageddon Doctrine combined with First Rank Fire Second Rank Fire to get 8 shots per guardsmen at 18" range.
That seemed pretty OP to me so after the battle I looked up the doctrine and the wording is pretty confusing.
I interpret the wording to mean the rapid fire range of rapid fire weapons is extended to 18", while his interpretation is that the doctrine doubles the number of shots all rapid fire weapons as well as increasing rapid fire range to 18". This way, he can get his lasguns to rapid fire 2 with FRFSRF (meaning 4 shots at 18") and then double that with the Armageddon doctrine. He also uses this to double the shots from his plasma guns. This is really difficult to combat so I'd like to know if this is the proper interpretation of the doctrine or not. Thanks
Post by RedsandRoyals on Feb 13, 2018 1:35:11 GMT -5
I think it's pretty clear you're correct unless someone's intentionally reading it the wrong way.
"Infantry units with this doctrine may double the number of attacks they make with Rapid Fire at range of up to 18', RATHER THAN half the weapon's range AS NORMAL."
Emphasis mine, obviously, but it highlights two important parts. Those two bits very, very strongly suggest that you're extending rapid fire range. I mean, the entire second half of the sentence is basically there to tell you that you are replacing the regular rapid fire rules with what's defined in the first part. That's it. If it was how he wanted to use it, it would be "... may double the number of attacks they make with Rapid Fire, and increase rapid fire range to 18". I see no "And" anywhere in that sentence to imply his alleged double boost.
Tell this guy he's a cheating jerk and don't play him if he insists it works this way. You can ask GW on their facebook page too, they usually give good clarification.
Industrial Efficiency allows your Guardsmen to lay down a withering hail of fire at midrange – an Infantry Squad with lasguns and the First Rank Fire! Second Rank Fire! Order will be putting out 36 shots at 18” and closer!
Post by treadiculous on Feb 14, 2018 10:51:24 GMT -5
Given the mistake made by the warhammer website itself, I can imagine he thought it was fair game, I certainly have got really excited about rules combo's which I later realise are OP - sometimes I needed this illustrated to me. I would hope he'd be able to accept it - he's not had to make conversions or buy expensive models to gain this rule - and it still applies (though with less strength) so he should be okay with it really.
It is unwise to be too sure of one's own wisdom. It is healthy to be reminded that the strongest might weaken and the wisest might err - Gandhi