Good evening. I have the following question concerning the Tallarn Stratagem (AMBUSH). The wording states that you place its unit 7'' of any battlefield edge. First does it mean any one of the 4 edges of the table or is there a more detailed definition of edge? Secondly do all the units have to arrive from the same edge or can they choose different entry edges. I would like to know your thoughts.
Below the exact wording (pg136)
TALLARN - Ambush (3 CP): Use during the deployment phase. You may set up to three TALLARN units (only one of which can be a vehicle) in ambush. At the end of your movement phase, you may deploy them within 7" of the table's edge and more than 9" from any enemy units; they are treated as having moved their maximum distance. Outflank that Baneblade, you know you want to.
(If this post is against forum rules please delete)
Post by RedsandRoyals on Apr 2, 2018 19:06:51 GMT -5
Actually if you read it closely it says "set each of them up wholly within 7in of any battlefield edge". That's a pretty ironclad answer to your first question, and I think it heavily implies you can choose different edges, but others may disagree. In my mind, specifying "each" instead of using "all of the units" or something similar suggests they are dealt with independently.
There may be no "I" in "Team", but there is a "Team" in "Meat Shield".
Post by treadiculous on Apr 2, 2018 20:08:52 GMT -5
I'd go with that too.
You can put them within 7" of any table edge, that's your side, the opponents side, the right flank, or the left flank.
I think it's a little unclear if you can split the ambush units up or not, I feel it hasn't specified either way. (I can't find the word "each" that Reds is referring to, the closest specification I can find is "them" and "they").