when a Tau fires his Markerlight at a target, while he is firing it would i get a cover save from the markerlight itself. I know he can negate my coversave with markerlights when they hit but i was told that you dont get cover saves from marker lights themselves
Hmmm I agree with Ymmot no save for the same reasons however from a strictly fluff point of view as the correct rule is above...
Cover saves are for example, the shot hits a bit of broken wall instead of the guardsman sheltering behind, so as I'm no major Tau expert isn't the marker light something that locks on and feeds all the info to other tau units so its easier to shoot? If so surely, thinking fluff behind the markerlight, you should have a cover save as the marker light could end up locking onto the bit of wall instead of the squad? Maybe I'm overthinking this....... the BS shot can't be enough otherwise we'd never have to roll to wound with anything that removes covers and saves theres still a chance with 1's you'd survive.
edit: I'm over thinking this even if it did lock onto the wall they would still send the missile at you
Last Edit: Sept 23, 2009 7:39:16 GMT -5 by Deleted
Post by ssgtdude (M.I.A) on Sept 24, 2009 7:39:16 GMT -5
According to the rules no you don't get a cover save.
Think of it like this. All a Marker light ends up being is a laser light that they shine at you and are able to "lock-on" the target. The roll "to hit" is used to show that they were able to lock the target.
Then after it has been locked on they can send that information to another unit and have that unit take the advantage of using the marker light. In most cases the same unit is not able to use the marker light from its own unit.