Hey guys quick question can you still bring a platoon on as one from reserves or when out flanking with your war Lord trait? I know you did in the 5th but I did not think you could anymore and had to roll for each squad, but I watched a tatics vid on YouTube and the guy said you still could. If you can could point me to a page in the codex that say so thanks. Solidog.
As far as I can see there is nothing in the Codex that says you can bring them on as one unit. It only says that the units make up the platoon are counted as one troop choice on the FoC.
You might be able to do so if you run one as a formation. If I recall correctly you treat a formation as a single unit for reserve rolls.
So you could use the "infantry platoon" (1 infantry platoon, no further requirements or special rules) auxiliary formation from Mont'ka and attach that to you CAD. That way you have an infantry platoon that is (as far as I know) a single unit for the purpose of reserve rolls.
I'm not a 100% sure though: I thought formations are treated as a single unit for reserves.. but I'm starting to doubt myself. Can't find it in the rulebook, so I might be mixing it up with old apoc rules.
There are no rulebooks at the office though.. but I'll have another look when I get home.
Solid: sorry to get your hopes up I had another look at the rules, couldnt find anything that said anything about reserves. So i started flipping through the army/campaign books to see if I could find anything about it there. Turns out I was mixing rules up: there are a number of formations that only require a single reserve roll, but this is stated in the rules for the formation itself.
None of the infantry formations from mont'ka say anything about reserves so you would still need to roll for each squad individually, or... By a Gorgon/Crassus from FW and load the platoon into it and outflank the transport
Empty: unless there is a formation in the tempustus book that says that they all come in at the same time, you bring em in one by one.
Well that kinda sucks but I guess I could still out flank a 50man blob with some psykers with them and a squad of sentinels for support as long as I got the war Lord trait on creed and his two warlord traits re- rolling because of combined arms. Cheers for the help tho nutty.